Why I Decided to Start Tech Blogging

Why I Decided to Start Tech Blogging

ยท

5 min read

Hello World ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿฝ

How are we all doing today? How is the weather?

It's quite sunny out here in this part of Nigeria, but I'm enjoying it with a cup of chilled Zobo (a popular Nigerian drink).๐Ÿคฉ

Today, I want to go a bit personal and tell you about why and how I started tech blogging and how Hashnode Booth Camp is helping me to be committed to the same.

So I wrote my first tech blog on Medium where I shared on the relevance of being a part of a community as a programmer, you can check out the full post here.

Since then, I had not made any post, till last week, when I submitted my first task which was given by Chris Bongers, to give my past self a solution to a problem I had, you might want to take a look here .

While listening to Michaela Greiler, as she talked about "How engineers can blog 'successfully' and grow their readership?", in her session during the booth camp, I began to ask myself questions like, Why do I really want to blog?, What does successful blogging really mean to me?, What do I expect from blogging?

After much thought, I came up with 4 reasons why I should take tech blogging more seriously, and what a successful blog means to me. I will love to share with you. Ready?... lets dive

- To Document My Learning

andrew-neel-cckf4TsHAuw-unsplash.jpg Photo by Upsplash

This for me, is the primary reason for blogging. Before now, I had issues with getting blog post ideas, but I realized that documenting what I've leant or what I'm currently learning, is a good way to start. Beyond reading about concepts or writing codes, documenting my learning each time, will help me solidify my knowledge and track my growth in the long run. This leads to my next point.

- To Solidify My Knowledge

I realized from writing my previous post, how blogging helped me to find and fix the gray areas in what I claim to know. Writing requires effort, especially when you know that your audience are people with different backgrounds. You have to ensure that you are correct, accurate, concise and clear in your writing. Doing this will help you know what you know, much better.

- To Serve My Future Self

markus-winkler-7iSEHWsxPLw-unsplash.jpg Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

I know that having a blog may not guarantee me getting a job with Google or Amazon, but I know that it can help me build reasonable credibility. Beyond the certificate, my blog can be reflective of my skill set which can help me secure my dream job.

- To Give Back To The Tech Community.

Screenshot (36).png Being a beneficiary of the abundant resources on the internet, it's always a joy to give back and contribute. I want my blog to be that place where fellow programmers find answers to their questions. Also, as much as I desire a large followership in the long run, being able to help just one person who is stuck while coding, will bring me so much more satisfaction.

In summary,

A successful blog for me, is one that helps me track my growth, gain followership, demonstrate my skill set to prospective hirers and more importantly help someone out there in need of what I have to offer.

I hope you enjoyed reading and you were also inspired to start tech blogging. Let me know in the comment section.๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ